#PimpMyBio: Pitch Wars 2017 Edition


*taps blog* Hello? Hi? My name is Marisa and I am so excited to be submitting my YA Contemporary novel, TO BE MISREAD, for consideration!


THE MANUSCRIPT: TO BE MISREAD

In real life, seventeen-year-old Halle Levitt is an anxious bookworm. Online, she is Kels, a popular book blogger. When online and real life collide in the form of a boy with a blog of his own, Halle must choose between revealing her identity and protecting her heart.

TO BE MISREAD is a YA Contemporary novel that explores the intricacies and legitimacy of friendship in the context of social media. It features a tight-knit brother-sister relationship, a group of friends I wish I knew in high school, the grandfather I never had, #ownvoices Jewish rep, and a maltipoo named Maggie. I believe it will appeal to fans of Becky Albertalli and Emery Lord.

This manuscript is truly the book of my heart, and I am so excited to dip my toes into the #PitchWars submission pile!


WHO AM I?

Lucky because NYC allows me to meet so many of my faves!!
My name is Marisa! I'm a media / communications student going into my last year of undergrad at New York University. I live in Brooklyn and am spending the summer interning in the publicity department at Random House Children's Books. It has been a dream come true, as I am hoping to work in publishing in addition to (hopefully) publishing my own writing one day! My previous gig was at MTV News, where I had the privilege of interviewing YA authors such as Angie Thomas, Nicola Yoon, and Adam Silvera--just to name a few! 

My writing journey began when I was thirteen years old and I stumbled upon the incredible site inkpop.com (RIP). My first book, a dual POV about a dancer and rock musician, landed into the top five. At fourteen I received a review from a HarperCollins editor, who ripped my book to shreds. It deserved it, and whenever I think about it I cringe. Seven years later--my writing has improved, I swear! 

When I'm not writing, I'm reading all the YA, attending all the book events, watching Netflix, exploring my new neighborhood, and drinking tea. So much tea! 

BOOKS I LOVE 

I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson, Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen, The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, History is all You Left Me by Adam Silvera, Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers, and The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. . . and I'll force myself to stop here.  

As you can tell, contemporary owns my heart HOWEVER I also love me some good SFF / Fantasy a la Six of Crows, Illuminae, The Raven Cycle, and (of course!) Harry Potter. 

My most recent 2017 faves that should go on everyone's TBR immediately: One of Us is Lying by Karen McManus, The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee, Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia, and When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon.

FUN FACTS

  • I spent eight years of my life dancing competitively in jazz and hip hop. However, it is tap that holds my heart and I am still salty that my studio didn't have a tap team! I'm still shuffling along today. 
  • My heart is still in London, where I studied abroad my sophomore year. 
  • I saw Dear Evan Hansen before the hype && honestly Ben Platt is a revelation. What a star! 😍😍😍
  • I've kissed a dolphin.
  • I live for all the prestige TV but MAN reality shows are my guilty pleasure. Survivor super fan here. Oh, and Big Brother too. AND DON'T EVEN GET ME STARTED on the Bachelor/ette franchise. 
  • In second grade I was so obsessed with Lizzie McGuire, my teacher actually started calling me Lizzie (no joke).
  • I have a selfie with Kit Harington. 
  • I've met Sarah Dessen three times. 
  • Adam Silvera hijacked my interview with him to ask me about my writing and give me advice and I was freaking out the entire time. 

And that is all for now! Thanks for reading! I'm active on twitter as @mleekanterr12, so let's count down to August 2nd together!